
CR 1 SITUATION:  

Team A’s courtesy runner runs for F1 and later in that same half-inning runs for F2. 

RULING: The courtesy runner can run for one or the other, but not both. This is an illegal substitution and 

shall result in the courtesy runner being declared out and restricted to the bench/dugout. 

CR 2 SITUATION:  

Jones runs for F2 in the first inning, but Smith comes out to run for F2 in the third inning. 

RULING: This is legal if Jones and Smith are both eligible courtesy runners and have reported to the umpire-

in-chief as they enter as courtesy runners. 

CR 3 SITUATION:  

The coach of Team A sends out a courtesy runner for F2 in the third inning with one out. After the second out, 

he sends F2 back out to run for himself. 

RULING: Illegal. Once the courtesy runner replaces F2, F2 cannot reenter for the courtesy runner in that half-

inning unless the offensive team bats around. However, in case of injury with no other courtesy runners 

available F2 may re-enter. 

CR 4 SITUATION:  

The coach of Team B sends out a courtesy runner for F1 in the fifth inning with no outs. In the same half-

inning, after the offensive team bats around, F1 returns as a batter. 

RULING: Legal. While F1 may not return in the half-inning as a runner on the bases, he may return as a batter. 

CR 5 SITUATION:  

F2 doubles with no outs. Two outs later the coach sends out a courtesy runner for F2. 

RULING: A courtesy runner does not have to be entered when the catcher first reaches base. A courtesy runner 

may be entered at any time. 

CR 6 SITUATION:  

McCormick is a courtesy runner for F2 in the first inning. He then is a courtesy runner for F1 in the sixth 

inning. 

RULING: Illegal. The same player cannot be a courtesy runner for both positions. The illegal substitute is 

declared out and restricted to the bench/dugout. 

CR 7 SITUATION:  

Herrmann is a courtesy runner for F2 in the top half of the sixth inning. He then enters to pinch-hit for F4 later 

in that half-inning. 



RULING: Illegal. A courtesy runner is not eligible to enter the game as a substitute during the same half-inning 

in which he has served as a courtesy runner. Therefore, Herrmann is declared out and restricted to the 

bench/dugout. 

CR 8 SITUATION:  

Harty pinch-runs for F7 in the second inning, and then leaves the game. He is inserted as a courtesy runner for 

F2 in the eighth inning. 

RULING: Illegal. Harty is out and restricted to the bench/dugout. 

CR 9 SITUATION:  

The coach of Team A sends out a courtesy runner for F1 and fails to report the change to the umpire-in-chief. 

RULING: Upon entering the game,the courtesy runner became an official substitute. There is no penalty. F1 

has been replaced and may only return if he has re-entry eligibility. Since Team A’s coach did not inform the 

umpire that the substitute was a courtesy runner for F1, the umpire shall treat the change as a normal 

substitution. Therefore, F1 is out of the game. 

CR 10 SITUATION:  

F1 singles and is replaced at first by a courtesy runner. On the next pitch, the courtesy runner steals second base 

and sprains his ankle, but is safe on the slide. Does F1 have to replace the courtesy runner? 

RULING: No. Any legal substitute may become the courtesy runner. In this case, if no legal substitute is 

available, F1 shall return to run. 

CR 11 SITUATION:  

F2 singles and is replaced by a courtesy runner. B2 walks. Before the next pitch, the courtesy runner is replaced 

by another courtesy runner. 

RULING: Legal. A courtesy runner may be replaced by another legal courtesy runner at anytime. 

CR 12 SITUATION:  

Thompson enters the game as the courtesy runner for F2 in the bottom half of the first inning. In the bottom half 

of the fourth inning F2 walks. Must Thompson or another player be the courtesy runner for F2?  

RULING: No. Each team has the option of using a courtesy runner each time the pitcher or catcher reaches 

base. 

CR 13 SITUATION:  

In the top of the sixth inning with two outs, B3, who is the catcher, singles. The coach sends out a courtesy 

runner for F2 (a) before the first pitch to B4 or (b) with a count on B4 of three balls and two strikes. 

RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). 

CR 14 SITUATION:  



Cook is a courtesy runner for the pitcher. He then pinch hits for the uninjured shortstop in the same half-inning. 

RULING: Cook is an illegal substitute and is declared out. He is restricted to the dugout for the remainder of 

the game. If he had previously been restricted to the dugout, he is out and ejected. 

CR 15 SITUATION:  

Munoz was a courtesy runner for the catcher and enters the game to courtesy run for the uninjured pitcher.  

RULING: Munoz is out and restricted to the bench/dugout for the remainder of the game. The pitcher or 

another eligible substitute may run. 

CR 16 SITUATION:  

Adams courtesy runs for F1 (Jones) in the 1st inning. Baker courtesy runs for F2 (Smith) in the 3rd inning. In 

the 4th inning, Jones and Smith swap defensive positions. Which person can Adams courtesy run for? 

RULING: A courtesy runner may run for either the pitcher or catcher but not both. Adams, having been a 

courtesy runner for Jones when he was a pitcher, may only be a courtesy runner for a pitcher. Once a player is a 

courtesy runner for a position, he can only continue to courtesy run for a player in that particular position. 

Adams may courtesy run for Smith since Smith is now the pitcher in the game. 

*CR 17 SITUATION:  

Adams is the catcher for Team A and is to leadoff in the bottom of the fifth inning. The coach has Smith to 

pinch-hit for him (first time in the game Adams has had a substitute for him) and Smith leads off with a single. 

The coach re-enters Adams into the game and then requests to have a courtesy runner for Adams. The coach of 

Team B protests that is not legal.  

RULING: It is legal. Since Smith is not the catcher of record in the last half inning (top of the fifth), a courtesy 

runner may not run for Smith. But if the coach decides to re-enter Adams, he may do so and have a courtesy 

runner run for him. 

 


